Skip to Site Navigation | Skip to Content

School board honored in January

School board honored in January

Fort Cobb, OK – January 10, 2014 – School Board Recognition Month, in January, is celebrated by local and Career Tech school districts in Oklahoma, as over 2700 elected school board members are honored by their schools and communities for untiring dedication to school governance.

“The foundation of school leadership is ensuring equal learning opportunities for all students,” says Dennis Ruttman, Superintendent. “We’re proud of our district, and School Board Recognition Month is the time to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of our elected trustees.”

At Caddo Kiowa Technology Center, school board members must develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues impacting the entire community. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of $11.6 million, 4,362 full-time and short-term students receiving over 56,000 training hours, 118 employees and 12 buildings.

“School board members make decisions that affect Oklahoma children and billions in educational expenditures,” notes Ruttman. “They preserve the core of our democracy—public education.”

Board members for Caddo Kiowa Technology Center are President Dustin Tackett, member since 2004; Vice President Phil Perryman, member since 2009; Clerk John Clay, member since 1992; Member Tom Haley, member since 2009; and Member Lance Shenold, member since 2010.

More information about CKTC is available online at or by calling 405.643.5511.

No comments (Add your own)

Add a New Comment


Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.